Twitter appears to be testing a feature that will allow users to completely untag themselves from a conversation, rather than just mute it and pretend it doesn’t exist.
While Twitter hasn’t officially announced that it’s rolling out the feature for the first time or at least revealing that it’s in testing, user Jane Manchun Wong posted a screenshot of the feature on Friday to reveal its existence.
According to this screenshot, the new feature will block future mentions by un-tags the user’s username and stopping the conversation’s notification letting the user leave the conversation.
Twitter is working on an onboarding screen for “Leave this conversation” pic.twitter.com/cZYeOdo1pJ
— Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) February 18, 2022
This might sound similar to Twitter’s existing mute feature, which prevents users from getting notifications from conversations, however, the new feature apparently won’t let other users @you in tweets, as mentions will be kept as plain text So that you do not appear in this topic.
As far as we can tell, the new feature appears to be still in the early stages of testing, so there is no word on when it will be released to the public.