Recently, Google enables users that when sharing in Google Drive you can set the expiration date on that. This feature enhances previous expiring access capabilities by allowing you to add an expiration when sharing, as opposed to after a person already has access to the file. It is useful for that user who used Google Workspace customers, Drive lets you set an expiration date when sharing files, and the capability is now picking up a pair of usability enhancements.
From now on the user can set the expiration date while the data is through Google Drive. To do so, add somebody as you would normally and tap the roles dropdown. Add expiration” appears at the bottom and you’ll get a date picker.
On the other hand, you can now add expiring access for editors, as opposed to just for viewers and commenters.” This feature is aimed at “time-bound” collaborations so that “you don’t have to clean up a file’s access control list after collaboration has ended. Google Drive’s expanded file expirations are rolling out first on the web, and also coming to Android by the end of November.
- Available to Google Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Plus, Education Standard, and Nonprofits customers
- Not available to Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Education Fundamentals, the Teaching, and Learning Upgrade, Frontline, as well as legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers
- Not available to users with personal Google Accounts