Google has rolled out a new feature for its Google Photos. Now you can keep any of your sensitive photos and videos in Secure Folder in Google Photos by device’s screen lock. Photos you’ve locked in this folder won’t show up in the grid, Memories, Search, or Albums. And no other app will be able to access them.
- This feature is only available on Android 6 and later.
- People who have access to the device screen lock can unlock Locked Folder.
- Items in your Locked Folder that are saved to your device aren’t moved to other devices during cable or cloud data transfers.
- If you uninstall the Photos app or clear your Photos app data, you’ll lose all items in your Locked Folder. To save these items, remove them from Locked Folder before you make changes.
Set up Locked Folder
Important: The first time you try to move photos and videos to Locked Folder, you’ll be prompted to set it up.
- Open the Google Photos app .
- Go to Library Utilities Locked Folder .
- Tap Set up Locked Folder.
- Follow the on-screen instructions to unlock your device. If your folder is empty, you’ll find “Nothing here yet.”
- If you don’t have a screen lock set up for your device, you’ll need to set one up to use Locked Folder. Learn how to set or change a screen lock on your Android phone.
On the topic of Google Drive, according to the latest news, you will now be able to “use your finger or stylus to freely write annotations on the file shown in the Drive preview screen on Android devices.”
- On your Android Device, open the Google Drive app.
- To enter preview mode, open the PDF you’d like to annotate.
- At the bottom right corner, tap the annotate button.
- A toolbar opens with multiple annotating tools. You can use a stylus or your finger to select an annotating tool.